Paper Craft

Pineapple birthday card

Today is my Grandmother’s birthday. She is now in a care home where the staff are lovely and patient with her, they do an amazing job and I wish we gave care staff more credit for the wonderful role they fulfill by taking care of our elderly.

I wanted to share the card I made for Granny’s birthday. Unfortunately Granny can’t see very well so there is a good chance she won’t have a clue what is on this card or what it says, but it’s the thought that counts.

If you’ve been following me on Instagram then you will have seen that I was playing with my new TODO Complete Tropical Accessory Collection, foils and some Hunkydory Adorable Scorable. (I can’t wait to get some pink foil for the flamingo in the set – but I digress…) I’ve been really into my rubber background stamps of late and so I really wanted to give my polka dot background plate a go and I think it looks lovely with silver foil on dark blue adorable scorable.

Pineapples are so trendy right now so I had a play with my pineapple hot foil/letterpress and dies – I think the foiling looks brilliant, and maybe Granny can see the shine as it catches the light. Because the coordinating dies cut out leaves etc. in the design I used my Heartfelt Creations flower shaping tools to emphasise any cut out bits to give them as much dimention as possible.

I started with a 6×6 inch card base and cut some blue chevron paper to 5 1/2 x 5 1/2 inches and adhered it to the card front square. Then I attached the blue foiled polka dot panel at an angle.

I stamped the sentiments from MFT ‘More Essential Sentiments’ in Memento Tuxedo Black ink on Neenah classic crest card and cut it into a strip and adhered it to the card front and also inside the card. Last but not least I attached the pineapple over the edge of the sentiment strip on the front, trying to keep this card simple so the foiling could be centre stage.

DSC01769

Do you have a TODO or other hot foiling machine? Do you like the look foiling gives to projects?

Come back soon to see what I create next!

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

2 thoughts on “Pineapple birthday card”

Leave a Reply

