Paper Craft

Playing with my stamp platform

Hi Everyone! I hope you’re having a lovely weekend?

As I posted previously this week (I’ve been posting a lot this week!) my Tim Holtz stamp platform arrived on Tuesday, but I wasn’t able to enjoy it as I wasn’t well and it was followed by two very long working days where I tend to get home, feed the cats and get into my pjs! My friend Holly wanted to see my stamp platform in action to know if she should get one too or get a MISTI/Hampton Art stamp platform. So this post is for her.

Amy Tangerine tells me it’s National Scrapbooking Day (in the USA) and to celebrate she has posted two videos on YouTube – one with Simon Says Stamp and one on her own channel. She said in the videos that she enjoys getting her stash and USING it, not just keeping it all gorgeous in the packaging. I thought – she’s right! So I went through my stamp sets to find a stamp I haven’t used yet and I found the Simon Says Stamp ‘Hey Love’ release rubber stamps and I was so inspired by all the gorgeous cards on YouTube using them and I thought I really have to create something using one, but because they are so intricate and rubber if I didn’t get a perfect impression first time I would have been so dissapointed with the results. NOT ANYMORE! So I got out some watercolour cardstock (notorious for stamping on because it is so textured), rubbed my embossing buddy all over it, positioned the ‘Elinor’ stamp on the ‘rubber’ side of the lid, inked it up with VersaMark ink and stamped it about 3 times to make sure I got a good impression.

Then I sprinkled my clear embossing powder over it and heat set it with my heat tool. Not much to see, but then I smooshed some Distress Inks on my craft mat (Tumbled Glass, Mermaid Lagoon and Peacock Feathers) and applied my inks with my Aqua Flo water brush.

DSC01735

I haven’t thought about what I’m going to do with this yet, but I’m so glad I did it – just being creative is so calming… It’s been so good to do little crafty projects whilst I’ve been doing this big experiment, it helps to not have everything being about SCIENCE!

I really love this Tim Holtz stamp platform because it is so easy to use, I’m so pleased with how this large, intricate stamp turned out. I know that you can use card that is larger than the MISTI in the MISTI and it doesn’t kink if you have to hang it over the edge, but this stamp platform is open on two sides, so you don’t even have to think twice about stamping on larger pieces of card – for a lazy person like me it’s a God-send!

Thanks for visiting my blog and taking the time to read my posts, please come back again soon to see what I create next!

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

Leave a Reply

