Paper Craft

Christmas Thank you cards

Normally I don’t get coughs and colds, but I was REALLY ill between Boxing Day and my first day back at work so I didn’t make any Thank you cards for my Christmas presents, but now I’m feeling better I have remedied the situation.

Pinterest is awash with rainbow cards at the moment – the perfect antedote to the winter blues! I wanted to recreate some of those beautiful cards for my thank you cards this year. I also love Paisley (as you can probably tell from previous posts) and have the Simon Says Stamp ‘Henna Patterns‘ and recently got the Stampin’UP! ‘Paisleys and Posies’ stamps with matching dies so I wanted to do a sort of compare and contrast between the sets.

I’ve had some holographic embossing powder since I was at Uni, but I don’t use it often, so I felt it deserved an outing. I applied my embossing buddy all over the card, then stamped the Simon Says Stamp ‘Henna Patterns’ stamps in VersaMark ink and heat embossed the holographic embossing powder every few stamps so I could see where I had stamped previously.

Once I was happy with the coverage of the white card with stamped images, I picked up my applicator sponges and Distress ink to create my rainbow. I used ‘Candied Apple’, ‘Squeezed Lemonade’, ‘Mermaid Lagoon’, ‘Blueprint Sketch’ and ‘Wilted Violet’. Unfortunately the glittery bits in the embossing powder that give it the lovely hollographic look really grabbed to the applicator sponges and I now have loads of glitter on my applicator sponges and on my ink pads and the surface of the card was a bit scuffed with all the glitter acting a bit like sand paper. (note to self – if I want to repeat this technique again with this particular embossing powder I should use stencil brushes rather than sponges!)

The sentiment is by Waltzingmouse stamps from the ‘Hello Happy Thanks’ set. I stamped it on Neenah cardstock in VersaFine ink and die cut the banner with a Creative Expressions die. To coordinate with the hollographic embossing powder I die cut the Memory Box ‘Brea Ornament’ die from some more card, covered it with Nuvo glue pen and sprinkled Nuvo pure sheen glitter in ‘Ice White’. It’s really sparkly!!

Then I used the Stampin’UP! ‘Paisleys and Posies’ stamps to do exactly the same, but this time I embossed with clear embossing powder so the glitter wouldn’t wreck my applicator sponges again!

I wanted to have the same effect of the Brea Ornament die on this card, so I used the coordinating dies to cut out three of the ‘leaf’ shapes, covered them in my Nuvo glue pen and sprinkled more nuvo glitter on them. I covered the glittered shapes with my non-stick mat and rubbed over the top with my bone folder to really push the glitter into the glue so they wouldn’t shed when they dry.

For the sentiment I stamped the sentiment that came with the  Paisleys and Posies set on Neenah classic crest with VersaFine black ink and die cut a banner with the Sue Wilson Creative Expressions banner dies. I adhered everyting down to the card base with Hi-Tack glue.

Do you prefer the SSS card or the Stampin’UP! card?

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

1 thought on “Christmas Thank you cards”

Leave a Reply

