Paper Craft

Lose yourself to dance

Now that she is at Grammar School, my eldest niece has become a complete ‘tweenager’ and her younger sisters are ‘so childish’ and she is desperate to be seen as a big girl, so I had to make her a birthday card that wasn’t ‘girly’, but more refined/edgy/grown up. All three of my Nieces love their dance lessons. Last month my eldest Niece performed in a dance show that was put on by her school – the children from all years (11-18 years old) were given the opportunity to either dance, choreograph, do lighting and sound or costumes and the show was amazing. Because of her love of dance I decided to make my her this card with a dance theme.

I like the song by Daft Punk called ‘Lose yourself to dance’, so I thought it would be a really nice sentiment to use on a card. Unfortunately I don’t have that sentiment as a stamp, so I used my new Crafter’s Companion ‘Contemporay Alphabet’ dies to create the sentiment from some white card.

DSC01498

Everything on this card is a die-cut! I have seen the Tonic Fairy dies used on cards with bits cut out to make them appear as women rather than faries and so I used both the ‘Rococo Fairy Lilly’ and ‘Rococo Petites Fae Ella’ dies and snipped thier wings and flowers off to create silhouette dancing girls.

DSC01499

I bought the ‘Bohemian Designer Series’ 12×12 paper pack because I loved the colour combinations. As I think the colours are lovely and the patterns are very trendy in fashion at the moment I decided to use this as my background. The Ikat pattern paper made me think of the light-up dance floor in Saturday Night Fever in the dance scene with John Travolta, so I thought it was apt for a dance-themed card. I started with an 8×8 white card base and layered the ikat pattern paper on the card front and attached the die cuts and stuck them down with Nuvo Glue Pen.

DSC01497

Enjoy your weekend and I hope you get a chance to do some crafting!

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

1 thought on “Lose yourself to dance”

Leave a Reply

