Today is my eldest step-sister’s birthday, I’ll be going to see her later today, but before I go I’ll post her card and present here.

I must admit I bought her present in May and started work on this project back in August, but with very little urgency. So it was only right at the end of October that I thought, “oh, wait, poppies in November – Remembrance.” so sometimes it doesn’t help to be ahead of the game!

I started with a box I had recieved a shower gel and moisturiser gift set in, which was just the perfect size to put my step-sister’s birthday present in (very breakable). The edges and ribbon were already red, which was where the poppy inspiration came from, but I needed to paint the front and back black to cover up all of the shower gel info! I painted it with acrylic and um-ed and ah-ed about whether or not to cover it with Decopatch to protect it, but for some reason thought better of it… (I wish I had, because it has litrally just now started to wear off on one corner!!)

I stamped the ‘Blazing Poppy’ stamp eight times in Memento Tuxedo Black ink (four on two A4 sheets of Neenah cardstock) and cut them out using the matching die.

I coloured the poppies with Spectrum Noir pens: CR9, DR3 and DR5. Whilst the petals were still wet with ink I shaped them using the Deluxe Flower Shaping Kit and glued two different sized petals together. I added some Nuvo Crystal Drops in ‘Ebony Black’ and sprinkled some black rocailles in it, then left them to dry.

DSC01478

The Spellbinders Labels were die cut from black and red card. The sentiment is Waltzingmouse ‘Say it With Style’ stamp that I inked in VersaMark and used Cosmic Shimmer ‘Golden Red Blaze’ embossing powder to make the sentiment pop on the black background.

DSC01479

To create the card base I folded a piece of black A4 in half, then cut two layers (one red, one black) to give the background more impact.DSC01477

I adhered the poppies to the box and the card front, along with the layered labels.

DSC01476

I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

