Paper Craft

Josh’s 1st Birthday card

I can’t believe today is the First Birthday of one of my school friends’ son! It seems like only yesterday that he was only a few weeks old when I first met him!

Being a little boy I had to use the Waltzingmouse ‘Kaboom‘ stamp set I got with my Birthday money (in case you were ever in any doubt – all the best people were born in April! 😉 ) When I first saw this stamp set I got so excited – I think quite a lot of my friends (and me) loved comics when we were kids & the love of the style has stayed with me (I still have some graphic novels stashed away somewhere at my parent’s house…).

The co-ordinating die for the ‘Kaboom’ stamp is amazing – you can cut out the inner and outer sections from different card stock and nest them all back together. If you have the time, check out Claire Brennan’s blog or the Waltzingmouse Inspiration Blog to see how effective the die is.

I stamped the ‘explosion’ using Versa Fine Onyx Black ink onto some Daffodil Delight card stock and fussy cut it with a slight border around the ink. The ‘one’ is spelled out using the Memory Box ‘Parker Alphabet’ dies. I cut four squares from blue card, attached them to black card and used my Perfect Layers tool to create a 1/16 border, so the blue really popped.

DSC01372 DSC01373

I think you get a better idea of the colours from this picture rather than the ones taken on the grey background
I think you get a better idea of the colours from this picture rather than the ones taken on the grey background

Well I have a long week ahead (I was working on Sunday & now I think I need to work this Saturday so I’ll have worked 7 days in a row, and tomorrow promises to be ~12 hour working day) so I hope I get through my working week, and I hope you all have a good week too!

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

Leave a Reply

