Paper Craft

Niece’s 7th Birthday Card

My youngest Niece turns 7 today! How time flies!!

I’ve seen so many cards using watercolour techniques that look amazing & I keep jealously thinking “hmmm, mine would never look that good – it would run everywhere and look aweful”, but then I thought to myself – I have watercolour paper, water-based inks, paint brushes, I should just go for it, splash some colours all over the place & see how it looks! So I just went for it!

I cut a piece of watercolour card to 6x6in, then taped it down to a firm surface so it wouldn’t warp too much when it was wet. I used a large watercolour brush to thoroughly wet the card, then I used a small bit of ink on a mixing plate and experimented with water to get contrasts between dilute and more intense colour. Several inks were used at various dilutions on this project, so I might not remember them all, but I think I used Melon Mambo, Tangerine Tango, Daffodil Delight and Pacific Point.

When I was happy with the look I had created I let the card dry. Removing the tape was easier than I thought it would be, but I cut off all the edges anyway because I wanted the panel to be smaller than the front of the card base. I tied a knot in some Pool Party ribbon and attached it with double sided tape.

The ‘Sweet’ die is from Whimsy Stamps and I die cut it from watercolour card so it had the same texture as the background. The sentiment is from the Wplus9 ‘Fresh Picked‘ stamp set that I stamped with Versa Fine ink in Onyx Black. The sequins are from the Doodlebug Designs ‘Tangerine’ set and I attached them with Glossy Accents.

DSC01366I made a tag to match from Waltzingmouse ‘Stitched tags dies‘ and Cheery Lynn ‘Happy‘ and ‘Birthday‘ dies.

DSC01365DSC01364I will be seeing my Niece tomorrow for her Birthday party, so I can give her her card & present then.

Wishing you all a lovely weekend ahead x

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

Leave a Reply

