Today is my best friend’s 30th birthday! I’ll be meeting with her later today in a pub near her house with other friends of hers where I can give her her card & presents.

I wanted to make her a card in a box, which I had never done before, so I started early (in August) watching YouTube tutorials, going on Pinterest to look at some inspiration etc. I decided I wanted to start with a black base, that way the colours would really pop with the dark background.

First I cut three green square panels to go on the bottom of the box. I stamped them with the leaves from the Waltzingmouse Stamps ‘Funky Flowers’ set in Lucky Limeade (SU!) ink. I adhered them to the sides & I had begun! For the fourth side I cut a full height white panel and stamped it with the sentiment from WMS ‘Say It With Style’ set in Memento Tuxedo Black ink and adhered it to the ‘back’ of the box.

DSC01328

Next I cut a white panel that would go on the inside of the box on the back panel. I stamped the flowers from the WMS ‘Two Step Floral Sprig’ with Wisteria Wonder, Perfect Plum and Daffodil Delight Stampin’ UP! inks.

I cut three more green panels for the flaps of the box. To one of the green panels I attached a 3 and a 0 from the American Crafts Thickers glitter letter stickers in Lavender. I stamped some ‘Funky Flowers’ in VersaMark ink on the other two panels, I had been hoping for the flowers to be random, buth they ended up in a square pattern of nine flowers on each panel! I used Cosmic Shimmer Embossing Powders for the flowers.

DSC01327

DSC01325

The only thing remaining was to fill in the inside of the box! I die cut the Cheery Lynn Designs ‘Happy’ and ‘Birthday’ die sentiments from Centura Pearl cardstock and attached them to acetate strips with Glossy Accents. I stamped several of the WMS ‘Funky Flowers’ on different cardstock with VersaMark ink & embossed with lots of Cosmic Shimmer Embossing powders and with Seafoam White embossing powder. Some of the flowers had nail varnish in their centers to be stamens. I used the co-ordinating dies to cut the flowers out.

Last but not least I used my butterfly punch to cut some butterflies from pearlescent teal cardstock.

I used Glossy Accents to attach the acetate strips, flowers and leaves to the ‘bridges’ inside the box to create several layers.

DSC01326

I also made a card for her gift vouchers (due to the Christmas holidays the company I got the vouchers from had run out of envelopes to put the vouchers in!!) I used the WMS ‘Gift Card It’ die to cut semi-circles in the card at the right height for the vouchers by passing half the die through, measuring and then passing the other half through on the second run through my Big Shot.

Jenny's vouchers

I really enjoyed making this card in a box and voucher card, I hope my friend has a lovely Birthday, enjoy your weekends!!

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

