I went shopping for Christmas dies at the weekend in my local craft shop – The Art of Craft. I was moaning about how difficult it is to find Spanish sentiments & how I have to assemble them from scratch (I do have the Stampendous ‘Spanish Messages‘ clear stamps, but Feliz Navidad isn’t in it!) and the lady on the till said “How do you say Happy Christmas in Spanish then?” “Feliz Navidad” I said. “We’ve got that as a die from Memory Box.” was her reply – I won’t lie, I was gobsmacked!!!! Needless to say it went straight in my basket, as well as some bauble dies!

So this card is a celebration of the dies that I bought on Saturday…

I used some metallic teal card to cut the sentiment and solid baubles, then I cut the ‘Swirl Ornament’ from some velum. Using the top of the ‘Classic Ornament’ I cut two tops from gold mirror card. I cut several branches from Mossy Meadow card stock using my Martha Stewart ‘branch’ punch.

I used a white 6×6 card blank as a base, I used a roller glue to attach the sentiment panel to the bottom of the card. I used my bone folder to bend both of the solid baubles so they were more 3D. I used Quicky Glue to go over the Swirl Ornament, then stuck it on top of the Classic Ornament. I used Quicky Glue to attach the tops to the baubles, then I added lines of Glossy Accents to the two sides of the baubles that would be attached to the card, so the middle of the baubles would be coming off the front of the card. I used tiny little drops of Glossy Accents to attach the branches to the top of the card.

Once I was sure all the Glossy Accents had dried I used a ruler to draw a ‘string’ for both of the baubles.

FelizNavidad1 close up

I hope you like this card – I’ll be making lots in lots of different colours for all the Spanish staff and students at the Institute where I work.

FelizNavidad1

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

