I’ve started on my 5 cards for the card swap!

DSC01297

I really wanted to use the Lili of the Valley ‘Fur Cones‘ because I just think it’s such a cute image & whilst it’s not an all-out Christmas image, I love it! Now I must admit I’m not a ‘fussy card’ maker ie. I don’t use LOTS of flowers, bows and embellishments on my cards, but I do look at cards like that & think “wow, that must have taken ages!” so I just wanted to give it a go for this first Christmas card of the swap.

I started with a 6 x 6 inch kraft card base. I trimmed a 6 x 6 inch patterend paper from My Mind’s Eye ‘Snowed In’ and adhered it to the card base.

Next, I inked ‘Fur Cones’ and ‘Happy Circular Sentiments‘ in Memento Tuxedo Black ink and stamped them on Neenah Classic Crest Card (Crafter’s Companion). I die cut the image with the largest Spellbinders ‘Scalloped Circles’ die, then coloured the image in Promarkers. [TeaGreen, Pine, Umber, Henna, Walnut, Crimson, Cardinal Red, Pink Carnation, Cool Grey 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5] I die cut the circular sentiment with the third smallest Spellbinders ‘Standard Circles Small’.

I really wanted the snow in the image to be sparkly, so I went over the snow on the branches and ground with Crystal Stickles (Ranger) and left this to dry overnight before continuing with the assembly of the card.

DSC01299

Using the Martha Stewart ‘branch’ punch I punched several branches from Mossy Meadow card stock. I arranged three red roses (habico) under the circular sentiment & when I was happy, adhered them in place with Glossy Accents (Ranger). Then I started to place the branches where I wanted them & adhered them with Glossy Accents, once these were in place I adhered the image and sentiment in place over the metal rose stems and card branches.

DSC01298

I hope the recipient enjoys the card & feels that even though there aren’t Christmas trees, wreathes, baubles or presents on this card, it still has a Christmassy feel!

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

