OMG! My friend that I went to the Ludlow Food Festival with will be 40 next week!! He gets on really well with my Mum & he wears lovely aftershave, so my Mum will regularly go in for a deep sniff whenever she sees him!

I saw this set by Acid Drops & Whatnots and I knew I had to use it to make a card for my friend, from my Mum!

First, I stamped the largest of the ‘Ornamental Frames‘ in Memento Tuxedo Black ink on white card stock, then masked it and stamped ‘Sexy Beast‘ over the right corner. I stamped the sentiment in the frame, then cut it out with my paper trimmer so there was a 1 cm border around the frame.

I coloured Gilbert with Promarkers; Blush, Oatmeal, Poppy, Moss, Umber, Chestnut, Satin, Cool Grey 4 & 5.

After colouring the image, I glued the panel to some black card stock & used my Perfect Layers tool (do you have one? I think it’s the best thing since sliced bread!!) and made a 1/16″ mat, then stuck this on some red card stock that matched the Poppy Promarker & cut a 1/8″ mat from that. I attached the mats to the front of a textured white A5 card base.

I stuck the white glitter chipboard numbers from American Crafts ‘sprinkles’ on the front, and last, but not least I stamped the ‘Happy Birthday’ sentiment from the Waltzingmouse ‘Say It With Style‘ set inside the card.

40th Birthday-male

Now I should probably get on with making him a card from me!!

Enjoy your weekend!

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

