A friend of mine will be attending a Baptism this month & he asked me to make a Baptism card for him.

Well, where to start??? I was never Baptised & I’ve only attended two when I was about 10 or 12 so I was a bit lost to be honest! I looked on pinterest for some inspiration & it was all crosses & Baptism dresses (well my friend doesn’t attend church so I think a card with just a cross on it wouldn’t have felt like it came from him & his great nephew is a boy so dresses may not have been his first thought).

I turned to my stamp collection & was about to dispare when I picked up my Waltzingmouse Fine Feathers stamps & read the Psalm included in the sentiments of the set. Baptism is about being brought into the family of God, so I think that sentiment fits a Baptism quite well.

I stamped the largest feather on SU! Lost Lagoon card stock in Lost Lagoon ink, then again in VersaMark ink and sprinkled some Heat It Up! Embossing powder in ‘Holographic’ which made it all sparkly! Then I stamped the second largest feather on Costal Cabana card stock in Coastal Cabana ink & then again in VersaMark ink, this time using Papermanina Clear embossing powder. Last but not least I stamped the third largest feather on Pool Party card stock in Versa Mark ink & heat embossed with Pool Party embossing powder.

Using some pre-cut guides I used the coordinating dies to cut out the feathers using my Big Shot.

I took an A6 cream card and cut some kraft card to make a background panel and attached it with roll-on glue.

I arranged the feathers so you could see all three were different & so that the wonderful textures & colours & sparkles could show, then used glue dots to attach them to the card base. The white label is Spellbinders Labels 4 and the sentiment is inked in Elegant Eggplant ink, also attached with glue dots.

DSC01078

The three feathers represent the Holy Trinity, I have included the Psalm and I left the rest of the card quite plain because it’s intended for a boy.

Had I been able to finish this on time I would have entered it for the Waltzingmouse Fanatics Challenge #23 Colours, but hey – work comes first!

wmfansflagbanner

Sophia Hodgson Signature Tree

