Paper Craft

London Calling Birthday Card

When I got this Penny Black stamp as a freebee from the Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine I subscribe to I loved it to bits!!! But I think a stamp is for life, not just 2012, so I’m giving it another shot at fame…

The base card is a Craft Creations Side Stepper, I inked the edges in ‘Old Paper’ Distress ink. I cut up an old tube map from 2007 and used it as the backing paper, attaching it to the base with roll-on glue.

I coloured the ‘Double Deckers‘ image in Promarkers and used a silver gel pen for the chrome fixtures.

The London skyline is an Xcut Build-A-Scene die set ‘London‘ that has lots of elements that I’m sure will be useful over and over again for different cards or scrapbooking pages. I measured how deep the step sections were and cut the dies to the right heights so when the whole thing was assembled they would all still be visible!

I stamped the Happy Birthday from the LOTV ‘Happy Circular Sentiments‘ set three times onto white, red and blue card, then fussy cut them and did some paper piecing to make it look like an Underground sign. I attached it to the back step section & it looks like the hedgehog on the top deck of the bus is pointing at it!

London Calling happy birthday

Here is a view of the stepper from the side.

London Calling side

lotvmonthlychallenge

I would like to enter this card into the Lili of the Valley Monthly Competition ‘Name That Tune’ my tune is ‘London Calling’ by The Clash.

London Calling front

2 thoughts on “London Calling Birthday Card”

Leave a Reply

