Paper Craft

Flowers Birthday Card

Tomorrow is one of my Fairy Godmother’s birthdays! (I was never Baptised, but my Mother chose two Godmothers, so they are affectionately referred to as my ‘Fairy’ Godmothers!)

This Fairy Godmother lives in a lovely appartment with her two cats and she loves flowers and has an allotment. I wanted to create a card for her that had lots of flowers on it, but that wasn’t too fussy. As a result I went for a simple colour scheme and a few layers for interest.

I started out with a white 6 x 6 card for the base. I took a piece of extra smooth A4 stamping card grabbed my Hero Arts ‘Etched Daisy‘ wood mounted stamp and the ‘Happy Birthday’ sentiment from IndigoBlu’s ‘Mr Fan-tash-tic’ set and inked them up with Stampin’ UP! Wisteria Wonder ink. I lined up the sentiment along the bottom of the page, then stamped the daisy randomly until I had covered an area about the same size of the card. I drew in stems for the daisies with my Lucky Limeade Stampin’ Write Marker. Then I cut the stamped card to fit over the front of the card, but with a 0.5 cm border around the edge.

Next I inked up a sentiment I was given as a free gift from Whimsy Stamps with Archival Ink (I was sent it with an order I placed a while ago, but I couldn’t tell you what set it was part of!). I lined up my Spellbinders labels 2 die over the top of the sentiment and ran it through my Big Shot.

I cut a piece of Stampin’ UP! Wisteria Wonder Chevron Ribbon and attached it to the front panel to the left hand side, then I stuck the front panel to the base card. I used foam pads to mount the sentiment over the top of the ribbon. Finally I stamped one last daisy in Wisteria Wonder and fussy cut it out to attach over the top of one stamped on the front panel to add extra depth to the card.

Flowers Birthday Card 1

A side view to see the layers better
A side view to see the layers better
Leave a Reply

