Paper Craft

Sorry seems to be the hardest word…

… but once you have said it, you feel so much better!

Tying the knot card 1

My good friends C & L were married on 6th July, but I only got their invite in June and unfortunately it was just before my Step Brother’s body was found so my mind was elsewhere. His funeral was on 2nd July so it was only a few days before their big day. Unfortunately I had not prepared for the happy event at all – I ended up buying the dress I was going to wear the day of the wedding & it was only then that I realised my invite hadn’t had any Wedding List information! Well I felt truely aweful turning up to a wedding essentially unprepared and empty handed…

However, I had a lovely evening & all my friends were so supportive.

The week after the wedding the happy couple went on Honeymoon and I went to Festival Internacional de Benicassim and travelled around Spain for almost 2 weeks. When I got home the feelings of guilt started to build – what do you get a couple who have been living together for many years and moved into their own home a year before they got engaged? How do you ask? Who do you ask? I got myself into a bit of a guilt spiral – I daren’t ask to expose my failing, but the longer I left it the ruder I felt…

In the end Waltzingmouse Stamps saved me – their August stamp release included the wonderful ‘Tying the knot‘ set – perfect for the sentiment on the card. I decided that I would get the couple something useful so I bought Amazon Vouchers (they may not be exciting, but they will come in useful for any Amazon purchases or for Christmas shopping online).

The next step was to decide how to decorate the card & I took inspiration from the Bride’s beautiful dress and elegant, simple bouquet – white roses. Her dress was white, but had a cream/ivory gathered sash at the waist and she looked radiant.

The base card was a textured white square card. I got the paper roses from Hobbycraft and arranged them how I wanted them then used the wire stems to attach them all to each other. Next I cut a metallic cream strip of paper and attached it across the centre of the card. Using Glossy Accents I attached the bouquet to the front of the card and let it set. I stamped the sentiment on white card and I ran the Spellbinders Labels 4 die through my Big Shot and attached the sentiment over the wire stems of the roses.

I measured the vouchers and cut a piece of card 1 cm larger than the vouchers and used my bone folder to score folds in it and attached it to the inside of the front of the card so it would create a pocket for the vouchers.

Last, but most importantly I wrote in the card and apologised for my tardiness, there are no excuses for being THIS late, I hope they accept my apology.

Tying the knot card 2

The second I put the card in the post a huge weight lifted from me & I didn’t feel guilty any more – so speaking from experience, if you need to apologise, do it because you will feel so much better when it is done!

Tying the knot card internal pocket for vouchers
Tying the knot card internal pocket for vouchers
Leave a Reply

