Paper Craft

Hey there little lady card

After the loss of my step brother I have been restless and found solace in some papercrafting. I wanted to do a papercrafting project that would have nothing to do with him, so no travel or holiday themes and nothing masculine. I have lots of sketches in my ideas book that I scribble in at all times of day – if an idea grabs me I have to put it in or I will forget it! So I found a sketch I have wanted to do for a while. I thought I was being very novel teaming the Waltzingmouse sentiment ‘Well hey there little lady’ from the ‘Back in the Saddle’ stamp set and the Whimsy Stamps ‘Good Pony’. But it was only after I sketched it that I found this lovely card by Niki Estes… Great minds must think alike!

Initial sketch
Initial sketch

So I decided to get on with making this card because there is no use having lots of sketches and no cards to show for it! I started with a white 6″ x 6″ base card and masked the back with post-it notes so I could create the background I wanted on the front of the card. I put the blanket pattern from the ‘Way out West’ Waltzingmouse set on my 2″ x 8″ acrylic block (Woodware) and made sure it was straight by lining it up with my metal ruler. Next I placed the un-inked stamp on the card and lined up the ruler on the edge, removed the stamp carefully and drew on the post-it notes where the edge of the stamp needed to be. Then I placed the stamp along the line again and repeated the process so I had guidelines on the post-it notes where the stamp should go.

I inked the stamp with Stampin’ Up! inks ‘Raspberry Ripple’, ‘Island Indigo’ and ‘Lucky Limeade’.

Blanket background card

Next I inked the sentiment in Versa Fine black ink and stamped it on to smooth white card. I lined up the Spellbinders Label Twenty-Five die over the top of the sentiment and fixed it in place with low tack tape and ran it through my Big Shot. I also used the little horseshoe stamp and stamped the front and back of the envelope.

Front of envelope 'Hey there' Back of envelope 'Hey there'

My last bit of stamping was the ‘Good Pony’ Stamp from Whimsy Stamps. The Versa fine ink for stamps like this is so good because you get such great detail. I coloured it with my Promarkers (so the ink did smudge a bit), but I still think it looks good.

'Hey there' taking shape

The Promarkers I used were: Pastel Blue, Lime Zest and Leaf Green for the background. Denim blue, cornflower blue and midnight blue for her jeans. Chestnut for her hair.

I inked the edges of the sentiment with Tim Holtz ‘Vintage Photo’ distress ink and added two antique brass mini brads from Doodlebug Design and then added one to three of the corners of the ‘Good Pony’. Then I stuck the image to the front of the card with roll on glue (AKA Snail) and the sentiment with foam sticky fixers.

'Hey there' Final 'Hey there' with envelope 1 'Hey there' with envelope 2

Leave a Reply

