Paper Craft

Mothering Sunday 2013

I haven’t really done much card making lately – my new job has taken up so much of my time & I’m a bit exhausted to do much else at the weekend!! But, because it’s Mothering Sunday this week, I decided it was high time to do some!

I started with an A5 white window base card (HobbyCraft) and inked the edges of the apeture in Distress Ink ‘Old Paper’ (Ranger). Next I drew a cloud on a Post-It note and cut it out, sticking it on the internal panel where it would be clearly visible through the apeture. Using Distress Inks in ‘Peacock Feathers’ and ‘Salty Ocean’ I built up the colour on the panel and over the cloud masque, working each colour from opposite ends of the panel, meeting in the middle. When it was a beautiful, graded blue I removed the masque and the cloud left behind was white on the blue background.

Next, I used my Stampin’ Up! ‘little leaves’ Sizzlits die in my Big Shot and cut out 3 branches out of green card and stuck them on the inside panel so they could be seen through the apeture. I had some ‘Petals’ (Papermania – Capsule ‘Liquorice Sherbert’) in my stash, so I used 3 of them by squeazing some Liquid Pearls ‘Pastel Raspberry’ (Ranger) on the back, so when I pressed them onto the card it came out through the little hole in the middle of the flower creating a pink centre!

I used my Nested Pennants die (Spellbinders) to cut the bunting from Tea Party 6×6 Pad (Dovecraft). I used white foam AlphaMinis (Papermania) to write the sentiment on the banners.

Last, but not least I pierced holes in all of the flags and on the folds of the card where I wanted the banners to hang. Using some white cotton and a sewing needle I strung the banners together and threaded the banners onto the card, tying knots in both ends on the inside of the card so they didn’t show. On the top and bottom banners I used foam pads to hold the flags in place on the card, but the middle banner was free-moving.

Mother's Day Card 2013

 

Post Script: My Mum LOVED this card – she said it was the most lovely card she had ever seen, so I was quite moved by that!

2 thoughts on “Mothering Sunday 2013”

  1. This is a very sweet card so I am can see why your Mum was happy. I hope that your new job is going well and that you will be not quite so tired on the weekends soon. It is hard to create something when you are exhausted. Thanks for your lovely comments on my blog too 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for you kind words! I’m much more awake now – I was doing lots of work and some other, more exciting things that just took up all of my time, but I’ve had some time offto catch up on crafting! 🙂

Leave a comment