I attended two weddings last year, and I can’t believe how fast the time flies! This is the card I have created for an old school friend’s first wedding anniversary.

He plays guitar in a female-fronted hard rock band when he isn’t being an engineer and she is a craft-aholic in her spare time (just like me!) so I wanted to make them an extra-special card to remember their big day. The colour scheme at their wedding was grey and dark purple, so I wanted to use this colour pallet in their anniversary card too.

I’m a huge fan of Steampunk and I love the Kanban crafts Steam Punk Collection. I started out with a pre-made A5 window card and cut a piece of 12×12 card from the K&Company set ‘Poppy Seed’ to cover the inside panel visable through the aperture. I inked the front of the card with Tim Hotlz distress ink in ‘Vintage photo’, which I think made it look a bit like a wooden photo frame. I stamped the stamps from Kanban crafts set ‘Jasper’ onto white card in VersaFine Vintage Sepia ink, cut them out and then coloured them in Promarkers: Cool Grey 1, Cool Grey 2, Cool Grey 3, Amethist, Blubell, Lilac, Lavender, Satin and Ivory. For the buttons and the stand I used a metallic orange gel pen.

The ‘Happy Anniversary’ sentiment is from the Kanban crafts ‘Time Machine‘ foiled die cut punchout card sentiments, which I attached to the front with roll-on glue. I worked out which bits of the cut-outs would be on the front and which would be overhanging the window, then attached foam pads so the cut-outs would pop out and be the main focus of the card.

Without blowing my own trumpet too much I think this is the best card I’ve ever made – I absolutely love it & hope my friends do too!

