Outdoors

Reading Festival 2012

Yay!!! I came back from Reading Festival 2012 yesterday! It is so nice to be CLEAN and RESTED today, but I had an amazing weekend…

We were rather lucky with the weather – it only really rained on Saturday (the heavens opened whilst I was right up at the front for Florence and the Machine, but I was so hot in the crush of people that I had to take my waterproof off so I was drenched!!).

We arrived on Thursday & set up camp, then drank the free Skol we had been given on entry to pass the time. Then we decided to pop to Waitrose to get beer, cider crisps & biscuits (sounds very healthy, doesn’t it?), but disaster struck back at the campsite! No glass bottles on site! Cue distress – leave the alcohol behind, or split up to find a suitable container to pour them in to drink later… Whilst my boyfriend took the edible shopping I was left to guard the drink, so I drank a bottle of Rekorderlig as he rushed hither and thither to find two plastic water containers so we could pour our bottled drink in there, a good drinking session working out how to drink from a 10 litre container gingerly ensued (seeing over a litre of liquid rushing towards your face at high speed as you attempt to drink slowly is rather unnerving…)

Friday morning we trotted off to get our free breakfast (everyone who got weekend tickets was given 3 tickets to ‘Fuel the Festival’, which I thought was a really good idea). The first band we caught were Pettybone – not really my thing, so we wandered off to watch Deaf Havana instead. Hadouken! were really good – they got my festival off to a great start, Star Fucking Hipsters and Spector were great too. My boyfriend had no idea who the Hives were, so I made sure we stayed in the NME tent & he thought they were really good both musically & entertainingly. We saw You Me At Six and Bombay Bicycle Club on the main stage, then went to the NME stage for Foster the People and the Maccabees.

Green Day played the NME stage on Saturday!!!!!! It was so full they put up barriers and lots of security staff so we couldn’t get anywhere near them so we watched on the main stage screens, they were awesome, but they kept playing and the screens on the main stage stopped showing the gig 😦

I dragged my boyfriend to the front for Florence and the Machine & the crowd were dreadful; pushing and shoving – we saw lots of people fall over from sheer weight of people & lifted back up before Florence even took to the stage. I love Florence and this was the first time I’ve seen her live (she cancelled Benicassim earlier in the year) so I didn’t mind being squashed up the front, but one of the mass surges took me and a whole group of people off our feet and my foot was crushed at a very awkward and excruciating angle – I was screaming in pain but had to wait until people could pull me up. It hurt so much I had to be crowd surfed out of the crowd, if anyone touched my foot I screamed. I was taken to the first aid tent to the side of the stage & was unaware of the rest of her set, bit given some painkillers and a preliminary examination where we worked out the pain was just in my big toe, not my whole foot – my boyfriend did a sterling job of assisting me to the main medical tent where they had some ice to put on my foot, then we limped back to the main stage to watch the tail-end of Kasabian from a distance.

First thing on the Sunday my boyfriend and I got up & headed off to the leisure centre to use their showers – it felt so good to be clean & check on my toe. After abluting we dropped our towels back in the tent and headed off to watch Of Monsters and Men, who were just beautiful. Tribes were good and we enjoyed them from the grass outside the tent watching the big screen with the added entertainment of the girl sitting with her friends in front of us occasionally standing up to rummage in her over-sized handbag and giving us a flash of her stripy knickers as the denim dress she was wearing was a bit too short… The Kaiser Cheefs were fab, we were dancing along to the tunes the whole way through their set! I loved The Black Keys before I went to Reading, now I adore them – I need to get as many albums as possible & see them live again soon! The Foo Fighters were EPIC, it was great to hear some of their really old songs as well as the classic singles.

My toe still hurts so I’m still taking painkillers, but as far as I can tell it’s not broken, just sprained.

www.readingfestival.co.uk

2 thoughts on “Reading Festival 2012”

  1. Hope your toe is feeling better now. I’ll go to see The Black Keys with you – I heard something on XFM the other day about a London gig at the O2 soon. We should go, if it’s not sold out…

Leave a Reply

